RESIDENTS: A free Riverside Regional Library card will be issued to any resident or property owner of Cape Girardeau, Perry, or Scott County or any Missouri county adjacent to these three counties--Bollinger, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, and Stoddard Counties. You must present proper identification which includes a photo ID, and documentation showing the physical address of their residence or property ownership within the above mentioned counties—is required. Post office box addresses will not suffice in obtaining a card.
Certified commercial daycares and residential care facilities may get one card in the business name, with the business owner as responsible party, and the names of current employees who may use the card during a group visit. Owners are responsible for keeping the list of employees up-to-date. Limit of 3 videos per business card at any one time.
NON-RESIDENTS: Residents outside Cape Girardeau, Perry, Scott County and adjacent Missouri counties are subject to an annual user fee. They may receive services provided they apply in person, show proof of identity, and make a non-refundable payment of $24 per household for 12 months or $12 per household for six months, renewable on the date of issuance.
CHILDRENS’ LIBRARY CARDS: In order for children ages 5 through 15 to get their own library card, a parent or legal guardian must accompany them to the library and give their written permission. Children ages 16 and 17 with proper ID and proof of residence may get a library card without an accompanying adult.
RESPONSIBILITY FOR PAYMENTS: All library card holders are responsible for payment of overdue fines on library materials that are returned after the due dates and replacement costs for lost, damaged, or unreturned library materials. Parents or legal guardians of children under the age of 18 specifically assume the responsibility for library materials checked out by children in their care. As such they are responsible for the payment of overdue fines incurred by the child and for replacement charges for accidental or intentional misuse, erasure, mutilation, or loss of library materials by the child.
PIN NUMBERS--PIN numbers must initially be created in person at the library circulation desk, but thereafter can be changed online at any time by the patron.